tmbt: love sprung of hope

I know what you’re thinking, another post about love. L.O.V.E., love. Well, yes, of course because that IS the most beautiful thing. Period.

I just clicked a link on Facebook for Obama commemorative gear. On the site, there was an Obama calendar – twelve months of glorious photos of my president. MY president. I honestly want that calendar. I want to look adoringly at the face of my president. I feel loyalty. I am proud to be an American. Wow! I will admit this squarely and openly: I have never been patriotic. Ever. I believe in a global community and a role that nations play in it’s dance. Aside from simply knowing that I am very fortunate to have been born here and given the opportunities I have been given, I’ve rarely had cause for true, living pride. Today, I even considered finding a t-shirt with an American flag on it!

I promise you, I understand that electing any person – even if he is splendidly inspiring – is only part of the process. That there will be problems. That now is when it simply starts – “it” being the process of rolling up our sleeves to get to work together to institute real change in our communities and lives. In fact, that’s the point. Now I really want to because I have hope that it will make a difference. Knowing that there are so many others who are similarly inspired amplifies that hope by infinite amounts.

So what is the bottomline source of today’s feeling of great love? It springs from the hope, the beautiful, beautiful hope I have that this really is the beginning of our true greatness. It is the beginning of something very very special.

~ by HeatherArtLife on November 8, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
