the most beautiful plant: helichrysum


The bright opening heart of you is one of late morning smiles and the perk of birdsong. And it is your essence of spirit and soothing joy that brings me to you and you to me.

I first encountered Helichrysum Essential Oil when a friend at work was showing me her collection of oils and we were talking about my back injury (a small, sweetly healing collection of herniated discs). Apparently, it was renowned for its healing benefits. And that sentiment was echoed by a friend at a local hearbal apothecary who simply said it was magical. In fact, my own heart join in the chorus as it lit up at the sound of the name, then the crisp, sweet green scent.

I’ve been using Helichrysum Oil on my back – one drop a day – for a while now, and I can feel the difference. I personally like combining this with Frankincense Oil and even a little bit of the Rose I have left over on my fingers from applying to my heart. Some essential oils, like Rose and Helichrysum are relatively quite expensive, but just one drop (of these two especially) is so powerful that a bottle can last a very long time.

Helichrysum (Helichrysum angustifolium italicum) is also known by the French synonym Immortelle, which means forever-lasting. The flower is native to North Africa and Southern Europe and is widely used in Europe to treat skin conditions and a wide range of inflammatory issues, and also reduces stress and emotional fatigue.

Helichrysum Essential Oil is considered a ‘sacred’ oil for its ability to promote higher consciousness, emotional equanimity and a sense of peace. I can vouch for that, let me tell ya!

As with other steam-distilled flower-based essential oils, the cost-per-ML can be high. But the powerful properties delivered with each little drop can be well worth it. I often mix it with a couple other essential oils and a nice “carrier” oil like Rose Hip Seed or Jojoba Oils to help it go further and to spread more of its goodness to the places on my body that love it – and I do mean LOVE!

If you are interested in trying Helichrysum Essential Oil, I recommend the doTERRA Certified Pure Therapeutic Grade version. They offer a small collection of single oils and formulated blends – all certified to super high purity standards.

~ Heather

P.S. Oh, and if you want a screaming deal, just sign up as one of their distributors (no extra cost if you buy a little starter package) and get 25% off retail for ALL of their oils and products. Okay, end of pitch! (I love these oils!)

~ by HeatherArtLife on March 15, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
