the most beautiful smell: frankincense oil


The Boswellia tree offers up it’s sappy milk and we are blessed with the feel and smell of spirit and earth, cellular healing, and the sacred memory of centuries-old traditions, rites and songs.

I have been using a lot of Frankincense Essential Oil lately – on my back, on the bottoms of my feet, on my heart, over the sensitive skin of my face, even under my tongue. It has this sweet, deep woodsy citrus scent and many healing properties, the most well-known of which is it’s propensity to reduce inflammation. This anti-inflammatory affect of Frankincense has led to its use in alternative treatments for inflammatory diseases including Chrone’s disease, colitis, arthritis and even some kinds of cancer. It is also used as a calmative and antidepressant, as well as a skin tonic for dry and aging skin.

When using Frankincense topically or internally, it is best to dilute it in a carrier only such as Jojoba, Sweet Almond or (my personal favorite and also possessing strong anti-inflammatory properties) Rose Hip Seed oil.

Also called Olibanum from the Arabic al-lubān (roughly translated as “that which results from milking” because of its milky sap is tapped from the Boswellia tree), Frankincense is well known as one of the gifts given to the baby Jesus by the Magi (the three kings of biblical lore said to have followed a star to the place of the christ child’s birth). It was and is still used in many religious rites, including Catholic masses where the resin is burned as incense. Its origins lie in northern Africa

Young Living, a popular essential oils company offers this description of Frankincense:
Frankincense (Boswellia carteri) has a sweet, warm, balsamic aroma that is stimulating and elevating to the mind. Useful for visualizing, improving one’s spiritual connection, and centering, it has comforting properties that help focus the mind and overcome stress and despair. Frankincense is considered the holy anointing oil in the Middle East, where it has been used in religious ceremonies for thousands of years. More recently, it has been used in European and American hospitals and is the subject of substantial research. Frankincense is also a valuable ingredient in skin care products for aging and dry skin. The ancient Egyptians used it in rejuvenation face masks. Frankincense has an approximate ORAC of 6,125 (TE/L). TE/L is expressed as micromole Trolox equivalent per liter.

If you are interested in obtaining very high quality Frankincense Essential Oil, I recommend a company in the U.S. called doTERRA (the name means “Gift of the Earth” in Latin). They have very high quality Certified Pure Therapeutic Grade essential oils and their Frankincense Essential Oil is out of this world! Enjoy (and if you, too love Frankincense and wish to leave your stories or comments here, I’d enjoy reading them)!

~ Heather

P.S. I’ve learned about Frankincense from many sources, but a good place to start for a larger overview would be this Wikipedia page: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frankincense. Oh, and check out my other post on Helichrysum Essential Oil if you like – that one is a sacred divine miracle, too!

Photo by Alexandre Baron via Flickr.

~ by HeatherArtLife on April 14, 2010.

4 Responses to “the most beautiful smell: frankincense oil”

  1. […] a day – for a while now, and I can feel the difference. I personally like combining this with Frankincense Oil and even a little bit of the Rose I have left over on my fingers from applying to my heart. Some […]

  2. i have been thinking about trying essential oils. Thank you for the pointers.

  3. I’m glad I could help! I’ve been into oils for years, but am just getting serious about taking advantage of their healing more. I’ll be writing lots more posts about them, I think. Happy Friday Mossy!

  4. Hi,my job includes 24h shift were I can sleep but could be disturbed nights and lately i been on almost wake night twice a week + my mid age problems with hot nights ==> all just went tits up ….can`t sleep and always wake up 1st time @1.30am spot on, then @ least 5/6 times more , so I found frankincense oil on amazone and choosed jojoba oil as a carrier oil and I did mixed up in an old spray bottle which was ment for spray on pillow also 4 good night sleep but didn`t work , so i discard that oil and used it for my ==> 3 pipets of jojoba oil +1 pipet of frankicense oil , shake it before use and i spay in my hand then rub hands 2gether & “wash” over my face , even more under my nouse and chest so i can smell it enough ….so 1st night i managed to sleep an hour more so i woke up @ 2.30 instead , then on following night I woke up @ 3.45 for the 1st time but ofcourse then still was up more in early hours . But know Iv learned to keep it next t my bed and use it gain if wake up ==> the smell is so calming and beautiful , love it .
    PS. I use to put on my face aftear tea time so im infuing long befpre bedtime . i do sleep better but still long way to go 😉

Leave a Reply

 
