the most beautiful top ten: friendship


“The bond that links your true family is not one of blood, but of respect and joy in each other’s life. Rarely do members of one family grow up under the same roof.”

~ Richard Bach

trunknuzzlefriendshipI first committed this, one of my favorite passages from the book Illusions, to memory when I was twelve-years-old. And though I love my blood family dearly, over the years I have known souls that were so clearly cut from similar clothe and hearts that so indisputably matched mine, that I have come to fully believe this statement. As I approach my thirty-second birthday and prepare to celebrate it with my dear dear friends, I am reminded of the incredible depth of character and lightness of being that my true family inhabits. I am so very grateful for the people in my life and to that service, I offer my top ten of most beautiful qualities of my family of friends, written directly to them.

1. Heart

Without fail, every single one of you has a heart as deep and wide as the ocean. I see it in you tears, your smiles, and the soft glow that emanates from your face and being. You are so profoundly touched by the world and by the people around you. It is inspiring beyond belief.

2. Courage

I’ve seen you face moments of true challenge and fear with astounding courage. From huge life-changing uncertainties to day to day misunderstandings with those you love, your display of courage to stay true and real and kind on slippery ground makes me proud to be your friend.

3. Humour

You make me laugh my ass off like no one else. If there is one “light” quality I cherish in my family, it is the humour that shows up in funny, subtle quirks of the face, stop-me-in-my-tracks clever comments, and flat out monkeying around. You make me laugh and thank god for that!

4. Beauty

Your beauty, external and internal, dumbfounds me on a very regular basis. Sometimes I wonder how I was so lucky to be surrounded by such beautiful people! You are pretty, handsome, gorgeous folk and I bow to the internal beauty that makes the external pretty damned blinding at times.

5. Grace

This is a trickier one. Intensity, charge, forthrightness, and determination are found in abundance in you and it is thrilling. But what makes that so complete is the grace with which you are able to deliver it to the world. Now, we all know that this is not always the case. But it is so oft the reality that it makes me want to be a more gracious person just by association.

6. Commitment

Every one of you is deeply committed to a path of spirit, growth, and peace. You are committed to social causes, political advancements, the environment, and to the ones you love. Commitment shines like a planet in the night sky and sets you apart from much of the crowd.

7. Loyalty

Now, I’m not, nor have I ever been the easiest person to get along with. And my relationships with you have in most cases come under fire at one time or another (or will, no doubt). Yet, you stick by me. Even when it sometimes feels like the ties that bind us are splintering, you are still there, still loving, still loved. True friendship has a loyalty to the heart of the loved like no other. I’m so fortunate to have that from you.

8. Challenge

As mentioned, there is plenty of challenge in these deep friendships. Sometimes it is my character you challenge, sometimes a simply act of unconciousness. But overwhelmingly, the challenge is simply to be bigger, be more true to myself and my heart, true to the gifts given me and us. That kind of challenge may be the most precious gift of all. To be spurred on and inspired even when it is uncomfortable – can really only happen with the support of people like you with a connection like ours.

9. Style

You are hot. You are snappy. You are sharp! You wear yourselves in the world with a kind of sparkle and attention that requires extra glances. You could be all dumpy and disheveled and still be adored, but seriously, that is just never the case even in your old PJs or faded jeans. You’re basically like friend arm-candy on most days.

10. Love

You are loved. You love me in a way that humbles and even embarasses me at times. You fill in all the little holes in my heart from people and times that weren’t so loving. You give your love so generously and fully, sometimes in a simply glance. Sometimes I just want to shout out loud, “I’m loved!” when in your presence. Your friendship, your true presence, your love… it feeds my soul and I can never thank you enough for that.

Photo by Mundy Hacket available at RedBubble.

~ by HeatherArtLife on January 31, 2009.

3 Responses to “the most beautiful top ten: friendship”

  1. this is extremely touching…thank you!

    i often find myself saying “i love you” more often (not to mention, more easily) to my friends than my actual family (i.e., flesh & blood). since i was young, i always (ALWAYS) knew that a bond between friends could be a very strong tie.

    i love my friends, i love you, i love this blog!

  2. I found your site and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good articles. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you!

  3. Nice post. Look forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

 
