tmbt: business following the rain

It struck me hard one day, in the office, back then, when I realized how far we’d slid from the mission I’d been beholden to for so long. That we were chasing while pushing a new market, that we were following possibilities of profit, that we were crafting messaging to snap, hook, cajole and manipulate people… It struck me hard: If we have to do this to protect our company, to be in business, to have jobs here after the next quarter, then maybe, just maybe we’re in the wrong business; if people don’t need what we are offering, if offering resources to empower people to accomplish what they believe in is no longer our focus then maybe it’s time to find something else to do.

And I took that to heart.

And I left.

And I took with me all those years of learning and applying principles of success and delivery, education and engagement, and I’m watching for the projects that serve, that empower, that answer a question, that solve a problem – a real problem, not invented to create a market, that follow the path of the rapids brought to the surface by rain falling freely in an intelligent world, washing over rocks and minds and hands and hearts… and I’ll use my knowledge to help them, if I’m the one to do it, to dance with them in the sweet warm rain.

So. Calling all rain dancers… I’m here for you. I’m not in a hurry. The weather on this side of the fence is wet, and beautiful.

___

Photo by Neusa.

~ by HeatherArtLife on May 30, 2011.

2 Responses to “tmbt: business following the rain”

  1. You have so many ideas! Authentic and passionate. Nice post!

Leave a Reply

 
