the most beautiful quote: who have come alive

The most beautiful thing I read today was a quote at the bottom of my friend Roger‘s email that read:

Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive. ~ Howard Thurman

I said, “Hell Yeah!” (Nod to Derek Sivers doubly noted.)

You see, I’m on the look out. There are lots of things I like to do, a few I love to do, and many I think I should do because I can – I posses the skill or have been asked to and therefor have dutifully, and often gladly, complied with the implied promise of success and appreciation inherent in the skill or request. And now? Well, as some of you may know, I’m hitting the road, heading due South to mix it up, get out of the day to day pattern, free up my own head – all with the idea that it’s time to find what’s next, or at least make myself available for what’s next to find me.

And I want that thing to be helpful – to inspire, to relieve suffering, to directly and largely benefit the world starting somewhere out there that lights up the somewhere’s in here (in my chest and bones and blood and heart, that is). So, seeing this quote reaffirmed the idea lingering in the back of my head that whatever it is I do, it must must must make me come alive. And maybe, just maybe it will the coming alive that helps the world.

Thanks Roger, thanks Howard, thanks Derek. Thank every last soul I’ve met or seen that inspires me to be that thing shining in the middle of me all bright and wanting for nothing, but wanting to live, sing, dance, fly. And so, seeing is believing and reading what I’m seeing is the most beautiful thing on this funny little Wednesday afternoon.

~ Heather

~ by HeatherArtLife on October 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
