the most beautiful thing: loyalty two


I have often been criticized for what boils down to a loyalty to the whole more than my loyalty to the parts. This may be a self-agrandizing way of saying that I have often put the outcome of projects, the perfection of structure, the good of “all” before the feelings, the joy and the comfort of the people involved. It isn’t that I don’t care about people. In fact, it is just the opposite.

I have such an idealist view of the possibilities of peace and joy that arise from all the pieces in their place that I often forget that 1. the pieces will actually never be in “their” place, or at least not for more than the one moment it may matter before other needs arise and 2. that the process and experience on the way to that expected moment are when life really happens.

So, how about this: How about I take this naturally arising and family encouraged sense of duty and apply it doubly in half. How about if the two goals of ideal systematic aquarian bliss and the confidence building of all who the process touches were the focus of my loyalty – that I could have a hand in the smiles of others while getting important things done.

Indeed, I was raised with a modern-day Machiavellian work ethic, but today I continue and more deeply realized that the means are an end in and of themselves. And the loyalty two-fold is a most beautiful thing, if only a goal… but of course, the goal also being the path, I suppose it is a most beautiful thing in me, in my mind, in my heart and intention right now.

At the Moulin Rouge: Two Women Waltzing
1892; Oil on cardboard, 93 x 80 cm; Narodni Galerie, Prague

~ by HeatherArtLife on March 20, 2010.

5 Responses to “the most beautiful thing: loyalty two”

  1. Greetings sister Aquarian.

    Perhaps it is our sign that makes me tend to annihilate everything that is not ideal. One astrologer said that we need to learn to compromise. YUK!

    • Indeed. YUK. Perhaps it is the spring air, but lately I feel that compromise might be suffocating me. Maybe this post was born too much of succumbing to that pressure… oh, sweet contradiction. 🙂 Feeling all huggy towards ya Mossy. 🙂 Thanks, friend.

  2. Thanks for the hugs.

    Have you been reading our horoscope lately?

    http://shine.yahoo.com/astrology/aquarius/daily-extended/20100331/;_ylt=AvICf_SMQXOhS2yE.7_4yqKLb6U5

    “You’re cuter than a box of kittens and more playful than a passel of puppies these days. Everyone wants to stop and pet you on the head and give you a treat — such is the general affect your adorableness has on all and sundry. Don’t be shy about getting out there, either — everyone needs to get a gander at your fabulous self, especially right now. Go ahead and strut your stuff!”

    • Well, I’ve perhaps been reading the wrong things! Been a sudden and cyclical recluse these days, but my cat thinks I’m quite pet-able – or at least lickable (she’s one of those other-groomers). But I do hope you’ve been taking this advice! 🙂 xo

  3. I think that this happy horoscope was for one day only, or perhaps a few. I did seem to feel it but it was not a big deal. I hope that you did not miss out on it in your reclusion.

    I have always been somewhat of a recluse, though I do not always like it. Fortunately circumstances have forced me to be around nice people despite myself.

    Hmmm. Cat licks… Love is a many splendored thing.

Leave a Reply

 
