the most beautiful thing: last look

looking-glass-1
I won’t give it away. I won’t tell you what I’ve looked at for the last time. Because it may not really be the last time. It may be the last time for now, it may be the last time this year, it may be the last time this life. It may be the last time I go and seek out your face and your words. It may be the last time ever. But because I do not know, I will not say. It is the not-knowing that makes this last look so needed. It is a last melody spun as the browser dials in, a last slingshot of anticipation as the page comes into focus, and a last satisfied sigh of recognition of static of unmoving of nothing changed. Nothing has changed after all these years. Nothing but the knowing. The knowing is better than the wondering and I found it. And on the other side of the knowing is the nothing. And I’ve taken my last look at it for a while. Instead I will look at the everything else. The everything else is the most beautiful thing. 

Image sourced at Cool Hunting

~ by HeatherArtLife on April 21, 2009.

One Response to “the most beautiful thing: last look”

  1. Mysterious.

Leave a Reply

 
