the most beautiful song: bon iver stacks

stacks
The melody walks along the edge of my mind in and out of precise joy and hollow longing and there is a hidden treasure there. It is at the end, the keeping of the heart, the soul, the love. It is there that I hear why every moment leading there sends the mind to memory and future at once and unceasingly. The clouds settle over the mountains and the lamp brightens wit the dimming light. His voice echoes the promise that those before have never uttered. So I keep him on repeat like a mantra to the heavens of hearts truly held and the rivers of always moving, never settled into full knowing. Always falling and lifting away. Always sweet inquiry. Always sweet. Always beautiful.

Re: Stacks
by Bon Iver (Justin Vernon)

This my excavation and today is kumran
Everything that happens is from now on
This is pouring rain
This is paralyzed

I keep throwing it down two-hundred at a time
It’s hard to find it when you knew it
When your money’s gone
And you’re drunk as hell

On your back with your racks as the stacks as your load
In the back and the racks and the stacks are your load
In the back with your racks and you’re un-stacking your load

I’ve twisting to the sun I needed to replace
The fountain in the front yard is rusted out
All my love was down 
In a frozen ground

There’s a black crow sitting across from me; his wiry legs are crossed
And he’s dangling my keys he even fakes a toss
Whatever could it be
That has brought me to this loss?

On your back with your racks as the stacks as your load
In the back and the racks and the stacks of your load
In the back with your racks and you’re un-stacking your load

This is not the sound of a new man or crispy realization
It’s the sound of the unlocking and the lift away
Your love will be
Safe with me 

There’s a really nice  post about the lyric meanings with a quote from Justin’s mother and explanation of the “kumran” inclusion at Wordsworth blog.

Poker chip photographer unknown. 

~ by HeatherArtLife on March 18, 2009.

5 Responses to “the most beautiful song: bon iver stacks”

  1. This song captures the sentiment of love and loss so perfectly. The simplicity of the lyrics and the melody go together to connect in a powerful way. It just gets inside your head. A beautiful song.

  2. Bon Iver have so many wonderful songs, but this one beats them all. The tune haunts me and the lyrics are wonderfully enigmatic…I loved the way you worded your love for it, you’re quite the poet!

  3. Simply a beautiful song that hits hard & I hope to listen to forever.

  4. Stacks will remain, this song still gives me butterflies listening to it. Well done describing the feeling you get when the music is taking over!
    Love for Bon Iver from Holland!

  5. If I could gift this song to everyone I would. It is truly beautiful.

Leave a Reply

 
