the most beautiful thing: rain

This morning at 1 am, I walked of the club into the cleanest air I breathed in a long time. I remember when I arrived in Boulder nine years ago (almost to the day) and first got out of the car. It hit me like sudden wind – this place smells amazing! Like pine trees and grass and water all at once. Well, last night I was reminded more fully than in the nine years since.

It has been raining here quite a bit the last few days, and very welcome after the intense heat wave we’ve just passed through. The moisture in the air, the wet, cool street underfoot, the glistening coating over everything, and a tired inspired post-show mind really got me. I stopped flat in the middle of the street and just breathed – breathed in good and deep, sent a little Tweet, then drove home very happy. Simple. Magic. Beautiful.

~ by HeatherArtLife on August 9, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
