tmbt: faces remembered

I just spent a couple of days at a slew of concerts, songwriter rounds, and other musical delights in nearby Denver. It was awesome and I met so many new people that I’d love to work with in the future. I drove back up to Boulder after my last pick tonight to catch a few old friends at their own little showcase. It was so heart-warming to see people I went to school with years ago now making a name for themselves and making amazing music! One of the friends – doing very well and experiencing a bit of fame – noted that he saw that I had a show coming up and that he hadn’t seen me play in a long long time. It was so nice to be remembered and then inquired upon. I’ve been out of the scene for quite some time and now that I’m re-entering, little remembrances like this are a blessing. After spending so much time in a nearby but surprisingly unfamiliar city meeting musicians I mostly didn’t know and who didn’t know me at all, having an old familiar face warm with recognition and anticipation of my work was a beautiful thing. It reminds me I’m a part of something, a family, a community. A growing community. Global and local and beautiful.

~ by HeatherArtLife on August 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
