tmbt: get there UMS Denver

I drove down to Denver tonight at the last minute to catch a few hours of the Denver Post Underground Music Showcase (UMS to the “in” crowd). I was tired. It was a long long so very long week. It was 104* in Boulder today. I had laundry to do. But you know what? I’m a musician. I’m a singer. I’m a writer. I’m a lover of music. So why would I not drive a little to see some great neighbors doing awesome things in my backyard? I couldn’t find a great reason. I hopped in my car and got there in time for just what I wanted… beautifully crafted songs in an intimate setting (a Persian rug store). Also saw some loud rock tonight, but that’s besides the point…

The point? Move! I think one of the most beautiful experiences I have is when a wind kicks up in me and I just act. Nike did trademark it, but many generations have been saying it: just do it. be there. get there. move. beauty likes a warm wind on it’s face.

~ by HeatherArtLife on August 2, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
