tmbt: fuschia feeders

fuschia
I have a sweet little fuschia plant on my deck. It has these big dark pink and purple flowers and has had its ups and downs with my fickle watering schedule. Recently, it really came back to its original greenhouse glory though!  A couple of weeks ago, I came home to find a very large cartoonish, green worm/caterpillar sitting there chomping away. Being a Buddhist and lover of life, I let the little bugger have his fill and in a couple of days, he disappeared. Well, a couple of days ago I came home to find and count eleven of the buggers in the plant. Just like that, wham!, eleven huge green hungry caterpillars having a feast of my fuscia. Well, they’re still there. I’ve given my plant as sacrifice to the myriad demands of life on the planet incarnate in this collection, family, hoard of quickly-plumpening green cartoon characters. Soon, they will spin cacoons, emerge as some flying insect – maybe a butterfly, maybe not – and go lay eggs for the next round of chompers. I have plenty of other beautiful plants, so I can can give this one to the next round, too, if they like… err, if there’s anything left!

~ by HeatherArtLife on July 5, 2008.

2 Responses to “tmbt: fuschia feeders”

  1. that’s awesome!

  2. Hello!

    Thank you for reading my blog. Actually, I did not take this photo of the fuchsias. This was one of my early posts on the blog before I realized I should give photo credits. I believe I found this photo in Google images. Good luck!

    Warmly,
    Heather

Leave a Reply

 
